MAKING IT BLISSFUL

handmade happiness

Blueberry Semifreddo Ice Cream

Leave a comment

semifreddoberryicecream001 semifreddoberryicecream003 semifreddoberryicecream002

These were made about 2 months back, in spur of the moment, when I found all the ingredients ready in my pantry.  Once done, I made no efforts whatsoever to note the recipe source, except that it was a cooking blog that I follow.  Big mistake, I follow like 1000+ cooking blogs.

Within a week the webpage link to the recipe on my internet browser was taken over many times by other delicious links.  I finally realized that I had lost the source, when the “back” button on my browser never landed me correctly on the recipe page.  I suspect the browser had probably crashed during one of the days, and the link disappeared, along with many others that I never had the chance to try out.

I vaguely remembered that I made it with banana, coconut and blueberries.  Turned out the original recipe called for strawberries.  No wonder google could not help.

The hero this time? My pinterest account.  Unknowingly, I had saved the page all along; the surf and pin action was so natural that I became unaware of it.  This episode of the information/recipe overload is bound to repeat itself.  And as I am typing this, I have 9 other tabs opened : wondering what to cook for dinner tonight and next week, where to visit over the coming long weekend, which chocolate cake look more enticing : this or this?

In the meantime, I am just glad that I have started this little digital place for journaling my projects and recipes.  Now if only I spend more time typing them out.  I still have some photos of a simple roast potato dish and a DIY staycation idea in my SD card.  The potato recipe is still somewhere to be dug out, while long weekends that would have suited the staycation article I have in mind, have come and gone.  Maybe I’ll tackle on these 2 first, before I start surfing for more inspirations.

And here’s the ice cream recipe that I was looking around for.

RECIPE : BLUEBERRY SEMIFREDDO ICE CREAM
/ Adapted from here

____________

1/2 cup frozen blueberries
1 large banana, ripe
1 – 2 tablespoon honey, depending on the sweetness of the banana
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 can coconut cream (13oz/384ml), chilled overnight
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

____________

01. Puree the blueberries, banana, honey and lemon juice in a blender till smooth.
02. Scoop out chilled coconut cream into a large bowl, and whisk till fluffy.
03. Mix in vanilla extract.
04. Fold in the fruit puree.  It doesn’t need to be well mixed.
05. Pour into a container, cover with foil, and chill till set.

Leave a comment